Raw vs. JPEG

I recently posted a comment about photography formats on RAW vs. JPEG and was wondering what the common thought is on this subject.  I found an interesting link on Raw vs. JPEG .  The article has some good tips and a link to a Flickr  Discussion group on the topic. I especially liked the tips posted about the different software you can use to process RAW images.

Here is an excerpt from the  Raw vs. JPEG  website on the different software:

What software is good to use with Raw?

Microsoft RAW Image Thumbnailer and Viewer for Windows XP (essential for Windows based photographers)

Picasa (Free!)

Adobe Photoshop CS or CS2

RawShooter Premium (recently bought by Adobe)

ACD See (for Digital Asset Management)

Portfolio Extensis 8 (for Digital Asset Management)

iView Media Pro (DAM, recently bought by Microsoft)

BreezeBrowser Pro (DAM, I also love their Downloader Pro for use with my card readers)

Adobe Lightroom (beta)

Capture One    I liked the Capture One video . . .  Check it out.

IrfanView

DXO Optics Pro

Picture Window Pro

• the software that came with your camera

• more software comes out all the time…

The next time I take a picture I am going to try to take a RAW image and see what I can do with it.  I know my camera can store both formats, so I will see what happens and tell you about my experience.

An image of a seed podUntil next time. . .

2 thoughts on “Raw vs. JPEG

  1. In my opinion if you want to get full use of digital photography shooting in raw is a must.

    A raw image is what it says it is. Raw, unprocessed.
    The way to look at it is that all images start out raw in the camera and then are either processed in camera with the camera making all decisions creating a Jpeg file or you can process it later using a Raw converter.

    A Raw converter can help create tones which may have been lost in the cameras Jpeg compression. Shooting both raw and Jpeg is good for previewing raw images. The reason thumbnails are not produced for raw images is because the image is not yet set. even when you have edited it you can still go back again. Taking this into consideration the Raw format is great for everybody at every level because you can go back years later and re edit an image again.

    Shooting with raw gives the option when editing pictures to merge and bled the same picture but converted for different tones in different parts of the image.

    Personally I use Adobe Camera raw because it works as part of my workflow.

Leave a Comment. Thanks!

